Hurriyat (G) condemns arrest spree, placing resistance leaders under house arrest

Home » Kashmir » Hurriyat (G) condemns arrest spree, placing resistance leaders under house arrest

By Fast Kashmir on 31/03/2017. No Comments

Hurriyat (G) condemns arrest spree, placing resistance leaders under house arrest
‘Geelani continues to be under house detention since last several years’

Srinagar, Mar 31: Condemning the arrest spree and placing resistance leaders under house arrest, Hurriyat Conference (G) on Friday called it as an extreme type of vandalism and terrorism.
This is martial law like situation and since inception of PDP led coalition, the authorities are not allowing us to carry political activities, said Hurriyat (G).
In a statement issued to KNS, Hurriyat Conference (G) said that its chairman Syed Ali Geelani continuous to be under house detention since last several years.
Soon as notification about parliamentary elections were announced, the authorities placed Mirwaiz Omer Farooq, Mohammad Ashraf Sehrai, Shabir Ahmad Shah, Nayeem Ahmad Khan, Mohammad Ashraf Laya, Mohammad Altaf Shah, Raja Meraj-u-Din & Ayaz Akbar under house arrest and confined to their homes, while as Mohammad Yasin Malik were shifted to Central jail and Syed Imtiyaz Hyder and Omer Adil Dar lodged in police stations.
The crackdown against pro-freedom leadership which was carried during people’s uprising in 2016 & hundreds of leaders and activists including Ab Ahad Para ,Ameer Hamza, Mir Hafez Ullah ,Mohammad Yusuf Lone, Mohammad Yusuf Falahi, Shakil Ahmad Yatoo, Mohammad Rafiq Ganai, Mohammad Rustum Bhat ,Shakir Ahmad Mir, Bashir Ahmad Qureshi, Ab Gani Bhat, Raies Ahmad Mir, Shakil Ahmad Bhat ,Mohammad Shaban Dar , Mohammad Ramzan sheikh ,Ab Subhan Wani ,Mohammad Shaban Khan , Manzoor Ahmad Kaloo, Ab Khaliq Regu, Mufti ab Ahad , Master Ali Mohammad , Ab Hamid Parey, Hakim u Rehman , Gh Hassan shah , Aijaz Ahmad Bahru, Bashir Ahmad Sofi, Bashir Ahmad Saleh , Ishfaq Ahmad Kotwal, Ab Aziz Ganai, Mohammad Ramzan ,Gh Mohd Hura , Ab Majid rather ,Shabir Ahmad Sheikh ,Farooq Ahmad Bhat, Haji Gh Mohd Mir , Javed Ahmad Phuley, Ab Rashid Nowshra, Manzoor Ahmad Bhagat , Ab Majid Lone , Ab Hamid Sheikh , Sartaj Ahmad ,Gh Hassan Malik, Bashir Ahmad Bhat, Tariq Ahmad Sheikh ,Ab Ahad Teli, Mushtaq Ahmad Hura & Tanveer Ahmad were detained and lodged in different jails ,said Hurriyat .
Hurriyat (G) while ridiculing unjustified restrictions over political activities, said that authorities have virtually created martial law like situation and resistance leaders are barred from carrying their political activities. Criticizing their rhetoric for ‘Battle of ideas’’ and lamenting at PDP, Hurriyat said that instead of showing respect for people’s opinion, they are gagging opposite voices.
While referring to use of unbridled state power, Hurriyat said that instead of facing resistance camp on political turf, ruling coalition prefer and believe in creating terror and harassment.
This is taking heavy toll, said Hurriyat and it is the basic reason for prevailing gloomy situation & uncertainty in State.
Commenting over upcoming bye election, Hurriyat said, it is not a democratic process, instead a drama enacted by forces and state police. Terming elections as mockery Hurriyat said that these elections have lost credibility.
Strongly criticizing fresh arrest spree, Hurriyat said that youth are being chased, arrested during nocturnal raids and lodged in police lockups. There are disturbing reports about the ill treatment meted to detainees, said Hurriyat (G). (KNS)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.