Congress NC delegation meets ECI

Home » Others » Congress NC delegation meets ECI

By Fast Kashmir on 18/04/2017. No Comments

Congress NC delegation meets ECI
Discusses overall situation in Kashmir especially in Ang LS constituency

Jammu, Apr 18: A joint delegation of Senior leaders of INC and NC led by J&K Pradesh Congress Committee (JKPCC) President G A Mir met the Election Commission of India in New Delhi on Tuesday and apprised it of their experience and the role of the Govt during the campaigning, besides discussing the overall situation in Kashmir valley especially in Anantnag Lok Sabha Constituency.
The delegation according to the statement issued to KNS gave a detailed presentation to the Election Commission about the situation and shared their experience during the period of Campaigning for the Anantnag Lok Sabha Constituency.
They apprised the Commission about the hardships faced by the Opposition Parties during the campaigning especially in Anantnag Constituency and the role of the Sate Govt and Official Machinery in this regard. The Delegation also regretted that the contesting Candidate and the Opposition Parties were not taken on board while deferring and rescheduling polling for Anantnag Lok Sabha seat.
The delegation expressed serious concern over the situation that prevailed in the Constituency and said that it was the duty of the State Govt to create a conducive atmosphere and appropriate security environment for the conduct of free, fair and successful Electoral exercise, but it utterly failed in it’s duty and played a partisan role during the campaigning.
The delegation also submitted a Memorandum highlighting the failures and role of the present Govt and urged the Commission to take all necessary and adequate measures inorder to instill the confidence amongst the voters especially Opposition for any further decision regarding conduct of the election to the seat and to ensure free, fair, independent and impartial atmosphere for the same.
The delegation comprised Mubarak Gul, Nawang Rizin Jora, Aijaz Ahmad Khan, G. M. Saroori, Altaf Ahmad Kaloo, Mohd Amin Bhat, Ab. Majeed Larmi, Gulzar Ahmad Wani, Showket Hussain Ganie, and Th. Balbir Singh. (KNS)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.