District Presidents Convention

Home » Others » District Presidents Convention

By Fast Kashmir on 16/05/2017. 1 Comment

District Presidents Convention

NC lashes out at BJP for betraying Jammu

Jammu, May 16: Lashing out at BJP for betraying Jammu people after seeking mandate on false promises, National Conference on Tuesday expressed concern over governance deficit, administrative inertia, developmental break-down and irreparable dent to communal harmony caused during the past over two and half years.
“Together with PDP, the BJP has brought Jammu and Kashmir to such a morass, exit from which appears remote”, the National Conference said in a series of resolutions, adopted at a day-long convention at Sher-e-Kashmir Bhavan.
Presided over by the Provincial President Devender Singh Rana, the convention was attended by Jammu based senior functionaries of National Conference besides District Presidents / District Secretaries of the province.
“To hide its failures and to divert the attention of people from real issues, the BJP is indulging in exploitative politics, generating animosity between various segments of society and working on trifurcation of the State”, Rana said while reflecting broad contours of the political resolutions, discussed and passed during the convention. He said a deliberate attempt is being made to sow the seeds of discord in order to keep the bogey of Hindutava alive. He said the BJP does not believe in governance or pushing forward the agenda of development, as it has benefitted from communal politics, which it feels will continue to derive benefits and bail out the party during elections.
But, Rana cautioned the BJP to desist from any misadventure of dividing the people or changing the singular profile of the State, saying the National Conference has and will maintain regional unity and communal harmony, whatever the costs. He asserted the commitment of the party towards unity of the State and asked the BJP to desist from its sinister machinations.
“On the one hand, the BJP is creating fear psychosis under the garb of ultra-nationalism and on the other hand it is working towards isolation of India in the comity of nations due to its foreign policy failure”, he said and referred to hostile neighbourhood, without mentioning China and Pakistan. He expressed grave apprehensions about national security under the BJP.
Elaborating the resolutions, the Provincial President expressed concern of the National Conference over border shelling and failure of the government in instilling sense of security among the dwellers by not constructing bunkers and safe shelter units. He said thousands of people have been uprooted from their homes, who are in lurch, as the government has failed in providing credible boarding and lodging facilities. He expressed grief over loss of several lives and expressed solidarity with bereaved families. He reminded the PDP-BJP dispensation of the promises they had made over two and half years ago and said the people of Jammu and Kashmir were at the receiving end due to worsening Indo-Pak relations.
On the collapse of administrative apparatus with regard to development and ensuring utility services, the Provincial President said that while various projects are starving for funds, the payments under NAREGA remain unpaid. Similarly, the problems of daily rated workers and other segments of employees are yet to be sorted out. “The insensitive government has failed in releasing salaries and wages to the employees and work force”, Rana said.
He said the scenario on utility services front is pathetic, as the people are reeling under heat wave in the absence of power and drinking water faculties. He said the ration at the CAPD outlets is inadequate at most of the places while the rationees have been denied sugar and kerosene quota for months together.
Rana blamed the PDP-BJP coalition for completely ignoring Poonch and Rajouri district besides the entire Chenab Valley. He said the people of these areas, as also those living in remote areas of Kathua and other districts of the region are suffering on account of minimum basics. He said the insensitive government has also ignored weaker sections of the society including those belonging to Scheduled Caste, Scheduled Tribe and Other Backward Classes.
Asserting the commitment of National Conference to regional and religious unity in Jammu and Kashmir, Devender Singh Rana said that the party cadre was prepared for any sacrifice to nurture and sustain this glorious legacy. He warned the BJP not to test the commitment of people to secular bonding and desist from sowing seeds of discontent and discord.
Senior party leaders, including Surjeet Singh Salathia Former Minister, Abdul Gani Malik Former Minister, Rattan Lal Gupta State Vice President, Th. Kashmir Singh State Vice President, Rachpal Singh, State Secretary, Qazi Jalal Ud- Din Ex-MLA, Sheikh Bashir Ahmed Provincial Secretary, Babu Ram Pal Chairman SC/BC Cell Ex-MLC. Earlier, the delegates from districts dwelt in detail on the current situation prevailing across the Jammu region and expressed concern over growing problems confronted to the people.
Prominent among those present in the convention included Sheikh Abdul Rehman, Brij Mohan Sharma Ex-MLC, Ajaz Jan Provincial President YNC Jammu Province, Deepender Kour Ex-MLC, Satwant Kour Dogra Provincial President Women Wing Jammu Province, Master Noor Hussain Ex-MLC, Dr. Chaman Lal Bhagat Ex-MLA, Ghulam Haider Malik Ex-MLA, Haji Mohd Hussain Ex-MLC, Bashir Ahmed Wani, Jugal Mahajan, S. Gurdeep Singh Sasan, Anil Dhar, Abdul Gani Teli, Vijay Lochan, Chander Mohan Sharma, Satpal Lakhotra District Jammu Rural A, Jagjeevan Lal Sharma District President Reasi, Sajjad Shaheen District President Ramban, Dharamveer Singh Jamwal District Jammu Urban, Mohinder Gupta District President Samba, Sunil Verma District President Udhampur, Bushan Uppal District President Rajouri Rural, Shafayat Ahmed Khan District President Rajouri Urban, Ajeet Kumar Sharma District President Kathua, Pardeep Bali, Ch Wali Dad, Sheikh Mohd Safi, Dr. Reyaz Ahmed Bhaderwahi, Rajesh Bakashi, Subash Chander Sharma, Rashida Begum, Daljeet Sharma, KD Singh, Shamshad Shan, Qasim Din Bania, Bharat Bhushan, GH Malik, Raj Kapoor, Israr Khan, Nar Singh, ML Munshi, Sanjay Gupta, Ravi Dogra, S. Sucha Singh, KK Bakashi, Ram Parshotam, Shabir Ahmad Chowdhary, Thakur Chail Singh, Mohd Arif Mir, Bola Ram Sharma, Shafqat Mir, Subash Chander Bhagat, Ashok Singh Manhas, Ch. Riyaz, Rohit Kerni, Riaz Malik, Matti, Zahgir Malik, Naveed Hashmi, Akash Verma, Rakesh Singh Raka, Rohit Bali, S. Sandeep Singh, Zeshan Rana, Yashwardan, Komal Manhas, Som Raj Taroh. (KNS)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.