Govt sets up All Party Committee on GST

Home » Kashmir » Govt sets up All Party Committee on GST

By Fast Kashmir on 17/06/2017. No Comments

Govt sets up All Party Committee on GST
Committee to be headed by MP Muzaffar Baig

Srinagar, June 17: As the GST bill was not passed in Assembly, the government today formed an All Party Committee (APC) to deliberate on extension of central Goods and Services Tax (GST) with modification so that it does not erode special status and fiscal autonomy of the state.
The Committee was formed today morning in Legislative Assembly before the Special Session on GST began. But the GST session was adjourned sine die by Speaker LA Kavinder Gupta and only an obituary session was held.
Sources told KNS the committee will make a report within 10 days after which another session will be held in Assembly for passing the GST bill with modifications.
The Committee to be headed by former finance minister and PDP MP Muzaffar Baig comprises of leaders of all political parties including NC leader and former finance minister Abdul Rahim Rather, Congress leader Aijaz Khan, CPI (M) leader and MLA Kulgam M Y Tarigami, PDF chairman and MLA Khansahib Hakeem Yaseen, Panthers Party leader Harsh Dev Singh, former minister Ghulam Hassan Mir, BJP spokesman Sunil Sethi and few economic and legal experts.
PDP leader and minister for Law Abdul Haq Khan, finance minister Dr Haseeb Drabu will also be part of the committee.
Confirming to KNS, Haq Khan said that the committee will set out a time bound report after getting a consensus and holding thorough deliberations on GST extension to the state.
The minister said that GST bill will be modified so that it does not infringe the fiscal and constitutional autonomy of the state. (KNS)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.