DGP chairs Central Police Welfare Meeting at PHQ

Home » Kashmir » DGP chairs Central Police Welfare Meeting at PHQ

By Fast Kashmir on 19/08/2017.

DGP chairs Central Police Welfare Meeting at PHQ

Decision taken will benefit more personnel : Dr. S.P. Vaid
Special Welfare relief enhanced in case of death for Police Personnel, SPOs,; retirement gift also enhanced.

SRINAGAR, AUGUST 19: The 13th Central Police Welfare Meeting was today held at Police Headquarters Auditorium under the chairmanship of Director General of Police Dr. S.P. Vaid in which a number of decisions with regard to the welfare of the personnel of J&K Police were taken.
Speaking on this occasion the Director General of Police said that the decisions taken in the open house by the representatives of the welfare committees of different units across the different wings will go a long way in providing more succour and assistance to the police personnel in the time of need. He said that PHQ has been able to convince the Government, particularly the Chief Minister Ms. Mehbooba Mufti who is also the Minister of Home and she has been kind enough to accede and agree to our demands submitted during the past few months, ranging from enhancing of promotion avenues to creation of JKPS cadre.
Dr. Vaid said that it was because of this support from the government that the ration money was doubled and the ex-gratia relief to the martyrs was increased to Rs.20.00 lakhs. He said that the proposal to remove the pay anomoly in difference grades have been submitted to the Government and also a proposal with regard to rank promotion of the Constables and the NGOs upto Inspectors has been sent to the Government. Dr. Vaid said that the PHQ is actively considering more and more facilities for the guards and offices though some of the facilities like pure water etc. has been provided. Referring to the Police Public Schools he said that these schools are being strengthened and more and more infrastructure is being provided and augmented.
During the meeting it was decided that special welfare will be increased from Rs. 12.00 lakhs to Rs.15.00 lakhs payable to be NOKs of the Police person in the event of his/her death while in service. Besides, increasing the purchase out of Police Welfare Fund to District/Range/Unit Committees. The retirement gift was enhanced from Rs.50,000/- to Rs.60,000/-. For Special Police Officers (SPOs) the special relief in the event of death has been increased from Rs.2.00 lakhs to Rs.2.50 lakhs.

It was also decided that the provisions for availing Welfare Loan in case of Life Terminal Diseases has been extended to five chances.
Earlier, in his welcome address Special Director General of Police PHQ Shri V.K. Singh highlighted different welfare measures taken by the PHQ for the welfare of the police personnel. While highlighting these measures Spl. DG PHQ referred to the increase in the promotion avenues and the health care scheme which has been submitted to the Government. He hoped that the suggestions and the decisions which came forward in this meeting will be considered favourably.
IGP (Hqrs.) PHQ Shri Surinder Gupta presented vote of thanks. He thanked all the participants for engaging in fruitful discussions. Shri Gupta also thanked the senior officers including DGP J&K for taking initiative for holding this meeting after two years.
AIG (Welfare) Dr. M. Haseeb Mughal gave a resume of the follow-up of the minutes of the last welfare meeting which was held in July 2015. He placed the agenda for the welfare meeting before the house and also presented the balance sheet of the welfare accounts. The AIG (W) also presented a brief of the achievements before the house regarding the overall welfare of the police personnel.

Besides, Commandant General HG/CD & SDRF Shri Dilbag Singh, ADGP (Armed) L.T. Mohanti, MD PHC Shri A. K. Choudhary, Director Vigilance Shri S.J.M. Gillani, IGP CID Shri Abdul Ghani Mir, IGP Crime Shri Alok Puri, IGP Kashmir Shri Muneer Ahmed Khan, Director SSG Shri Rajesh Kumar, IGP Telecom Shri Sunil Kumar, IGP Home Guards Shri Danish Rana, IGP Human Rights Shri Sham Lal, IGP Traffic Shri Jagjit Kumar, IGP Railways Shri Mubarak Ahmed Ganie, IGP (Pers.) PHQ Shri J.P. Singh, IGP Security Shri Alok Kumar, IGP Armed Kashmir Shri S. Ahfadul Mujtaba, IGP NKR Baramulla Shri Nitish Kumar, DIG SKR Anantnag Shri S.P. Pani, DIG CKR Shri G.H. Bhat, DIG Armed Shri Rafiq-Ul-Hassan, DPT J&K Shri Hilal Ahmed Shah, Director Prosecution PHQ Shri Pawan Gupta, AIsG PHQ Sheikh Junaid Mehmood, Shri Mubassir Latifi, Shri Sameer Rekhi, Shri Kulbir Singh, Shri Abdul Waheed Shah, JDP PHQ Shri Gowhar Hussain, OSD PHQ Shri Manoj Pandita, SE PCD Shri Rashid Mustafa, Shri Nasir Ahmed Khan Sr.ADO PHQ, SP (A/A) Shri Gulzar Ahmed, MS Police Hospital Dr. Bilal Raja, DD Buildings PHQ Shri Munish Dutta, Dy.SsP of different wings and representative of different Welfare Committees were present in the Welfare meeting.