​State Football League-2017

Home » Sports » ​State Football League-2017

By Fast Kashmir on 31/10/2017.

​State Football League-2017

Srinagar, Oct 31: In the ongoing State Football League-2017, only one Premier Division match was played at Synthetic Turf TRC here on Saturday. (Oct 29) in which J&K Bank XI defeated J&K State Power Development Corporation (JKSPDC) XI by 2-0.

In the closely contested match, both the teams missed several scoring oppurtunities. Adnan opened the account for the Bank team in 38th minute of the match For rest of the seven minutes of the first half the score remained 1-0 in favour of the Bank. The second half also witnessed some aggressive play by both the teams. While JKSPDC XI was desperate to score an equaliser, the Police players were trying to double the lead. 
As SPDC team was in search of scoring an equaliser, the Bank players from nowhere managed to pass on one into the opposite team’s half, which Danish without any mistake converted into a goal. After trailing by two goals, the SPDC players tried their best to score and stepped up the attacks. But the defence lines of the Bank team ensured that no goal was scored till the referee blew the final whistle. Adnan was declared as player of the match. This was the fifth defeat for the JKSPDC team in the ongoing league and with this defeat they remain in the bottom half of the points table.
Meanwhile, the State Football League, a mega event first of its kind in the history of J&K football, is going on at different venues of the state with full swing drawing huge crowds to the football venues. More than 500 football teams and clubs with over 12000 players and over 1500 team officials are participating in the mega event, the aim of which is to unearth the hidden talent across the State.
The event is being held across the 22 districts of the state these days and is being organized by the Jammu and Kashmir Football Association (JKFA) under the auspices of State Sports Council and on the directions of All India Football Federation (AIFF).

While B-Division League is already completed with IFC Nowgam winning the title, the A-Division League has reached to the final stage with Fort View FC and Novelty FC qualifying for final. In Super and Premier Division leagues, more than 60 percent matches have been completed. (KNS)