Chief Secretary chairs SLEC meeting of Rurban Mission

Home » Jammu » Chief Secretary chairs SLEC meeting of Rurban Mission

By Fast Kashmir on 24/11/2017.

Chief Secretary chairs SLEC meeting of Rurban Mission

ICAPs for village clusters approved in 3 Districts

JAMMU, NOV 24: Chief Secretary B B Vyas Friday chaired the State Level Empowered Committee (SLEC) meeting here to review the Integrated Cluster Action Plan (ICAP) and DPRs of village clusters identified in the Districts of Kupwara, Leh and Jammu for funding under the Shyama Prasad Mukherji Rurban Mission (SPMRM).

 Principal Secretary, Finance, Administrative Secretaries of the departments of Rural Development, H&UD, PW(R&B), Animal & Sheep Husbandry, Youth Services & Sports, School Education and IT and other senior officers attended the meeting. Deputy Commissioner, Kupwara and Deputy Commissioner, Leh participated in the meeting via video conferencing.

          The Empowered Committee deliberated on the main guidelines of the scheme, what has been done so far and what is required of the different line departments.

           The Committee discussed and approved the Integrated Cluster Action Plans (ICAPs) for Rurban Clusters identified in Kupwara (Khumrial), Leh (Spituk) and Jammu (Gol Gujral), detailing out the strategy for the cluster, along with the resources to be converged under various Central Sector, Centrally Sponsored and State Sector schemes, and the Critical Gap Funding (CGF) required for the cluster. 

 The Chief Secretary directed that all concerned line departments will ensure mobilization of necessary resources through convergence.

          Rurban Mission is an ambitious programme to transform rural areas to economically, socially and physically sustainable spaces and trigger overall development in the region. Village clusters would be developed by provisioning of economic activities, developing skills & local entrepreneurship and providing infrastructure amenities. The mission aims to create 300 such Rurban growth clusters over the next 3 years, across the country.  

 The funding for Rurban Clusters will be through various schemes of the Government converged into the cluster. The SPMRM will provide an additional funding support of upto 30 percent of the project cost per cluster as Critical Gap Funding (CGF) as Central Share to enable development of such Rurban clusters.