JK Bank wins 15th Police Martyrs Memorial Football tournament-2017

Home » Sports » JK Bank wins 15th Police Martyrs Memorial Football tournament-2017

By Fast Kashmir on 19/11/2017.

JK Bank wins 15th Police Martyrs Memorial Football tournament-2017

Srinagar, Nov 19: The J&K Bank won 15th Police Martyrs Memorial Football-2017 tournament by defeating Lone Star in a penalty shootout in the final played today at Synthetic Turf TRC Ground Srinagar.

Minister for Social Welfare, ARI & Trainings and Science & Technology Sajad Gani Lone was the chief guest. Speaking on this occasion, the Minister said that sports is the soul of the nation and complimented the Jammu and Kashmir Police for promoting the sports activities in the state. He along with Director General of Police distributed the trophies and cash prizes.

In his welcome address Director General of Police Dr. S. P. Vaid said that rupees 1.8 crore have been allocated to different units of the police for organizing different tournaments of all the games including Cricket, Football, Water Sports, Wall clambing etc. He said that Police had remained at the forefront for channelizing the energy of youth through games in the state. He complimented the Chairman Organizing A.K Chodhary, Organizing Secretary S. Ahfadul Mujtaba IGP AP/IRP Kashmir, J&K Football Assocation and other officers for successful organization of trournment.

Final match of the tournament was played between Jammu & Kashmir Bank XI and Lone Star Kashmir FC at Synthetic Turf TRC Ground Srinagar..

During the stipulated time no goal was scored by both the teams. However, after their stipulated time the match was decided through penalty shootout where Lone Star KFC missed 4th stroke by Salah (Jersey No.15) and subsequently lost the final.

Arun Nagiyal of Lone Star KFC was adjudged man of the match for which he was given trophy and cash reward of Rs 5000/- by the Chief Guest Sajad Gani Lone, Minister of Social Welfare, ARI & Trainings, Science and Technology.

During the closing ceremony DFA Budgam and DFA Anantnag were given Rs 20000/- each as consolation prize. Similarly, DFA Kulgam was awarded Rs 25000/- on account of 4th Place. Likewise, J&K SPDC XI was given trophy and Rs 50000/- on account of 3rd Place besides they were given fair play trophy during the ceremony.

Lone Star KFC was given trophy and Rs 75000/- on account of 2nd Place and J&K Bank XI was given winner trophy and cash prize of Rs 1.00 lac by the chief guest during the closing ceremony. (KNS)