State Football League-2017:

Home » Sports » State Football League-2017:

By Fast Kashmir on 05/11/2017.

State Football League-2017:


J&K Bank emerges winners of Premier League with 23 points

Srinagar, Nov 05: In the ongoing State Football League-2017, J&K Bank played a goalless draw with Lone Star FC in a Premier Division match at Synthetic Turf TRC on Saturday (Nov 5). After today’s draw J&K Bank finished with 23 points and emerged as the winners of this year’s Premier Division League.

Right from the start of the match, both the teams tried to attack opposite goal post frequently. But on all the occasions, they failed at the finish line. Lone Star team missed at least two clear scoring chances in the second half. First a strong kick from Karun Rainia hit the goal bar and on deflection, Faisal’s shot was saved by the Bank goal keeper.

The Bank goalkeeper didn’t allow the forward lines of the opposite team to succeed and saved three clear chances. Though no goal was scored in the match, it proved to be a delight for the spectators who were chanting slogans in favour of their favourite teams and players.

Lone Star FC, considered as one of the favourite teams for the title, would rue the missed chances as it was a golden oppurtunity for them to reach to 20 points with one match to go. However, with today’s draw, there dream of finishing at the top of the table have vanished.

Already J&K Bank Academy has qualified for the Premier Division League after it finished at the top of points table in Super Division League. The Bank Academy team finished with 25 points in the Super Division League and by virtue of being the topper qualified for Premier Division next year.

The State Football League-2017 is being organised by the J&K Football Association (JKFA) in all 22 districts of the state to unearth the hidden talent. More than 500 football teams and clubs with over 12000 players and over 1500 team officials are participating in the mega event, first of its kind in the history of J&K football.

While B-Division League of State Football League is already completed with IFC Nowgam winning the title, the A-Division League has reached to the final stage with Fort View FC and Novelty FC qualifying for final. Super and Premier Division leagues are nearing completition.

The premier division teams include J&K Bank XI, Forest XI, Police XI, Food and Supplies XI, Accountant General’s XI, Maharaja FC, Iqbal FC, I-League Lone Star KFC, I-League Real Kashmir FC, Power Development Corporation and State Football Academy are participating in the event.

The DFA Srinagar, DFA Anantnag, DFA Baramulla, Sopore Zone and Pattan Zone, DFA Budgam, DFA Kulgam, DFA Shopian, DFA Pulwama, DFA Ganderbal, DFA Zone Kupwara and Handwara, DFA Bandipora Zone, Hajin Zone, DFA Kargil and DFA Leh will send their teams for Kashmir province after the culmination of district leagues.
Similarly, DFA Jammu, DFA Kathua, DFA Samba, DFA Reasi, DFA Udhampur, DFA Rajouri, DFA Poonch, DFA Doda, DFA Ramban, DFA Kishtwar will send their respective teams from Jammu province.

The participating teams have strength of 20 players each with three officials. Besides Srinagar, the matches are being played in Anantnag, Baramulla, Sopore, Bandipora, Pattan, Hajin, Handwara, Kupwara, Pulwama, Kulgam, Shopian, Ganderbal, Budgam, Leh and Kargil. (KNS)