Baghat Gymkhana Lifts Shaheed-e-Milat T20 Trophy 

Home » Sports » Baghat Gymkhana Lifts Shaheed-e-Milat T20 Trophy 

By Fast Kashmir on 18/12/2017.

Baghat Gymkhana Lifts Shaheed-e-Milat T20 Trophy 

Mirwaiz presids the Award distribution Ceremony  

Srinagar, Dec 18: Baghat Gymkhana produced an incredible display to thrash Parimpora XI and win the Seventh Shaheed-e-Milat T20 Cricket Tournament played at Islamia College Srinagar. Mirwaiz-e-Kashmir Molvi Muhammad Umar Farooq was chief guest on the occasion. The final match witnessed the vibrant and enthusiastic capacity crowd.

The Baghat Gymkhana won the toss elected to bat first and set modest target of 116 runs for Parimpora XI but the star-studded never got the momentum and collapsed before achieving the target. Irfan Ahmad tore though the Parimpora XI top order and reduced them to 50 for 7.

Parimpora XI eventually limped to 87 runs, Baghat Gymkhana winning by 29 runs to lift the trophy. Mohammad Irfan for his outstanding performance was adjudged Man of the Match. Umar Malik for his best performance throughout the tourney was given Man of the Series Award. 

Mirwaiz Umar Farooq while congratulating the winning team at the award distribution ceremony said, “It’s good to see our youth taking to sports .While we are striving hard on the difficult path of realizing our political aspirations as a nation.” He further said “it is also important that the physical and mentally well being of our youth and children is taken care of.”

Mirwaiz lauded the efforts of Shaheed-e-Milat T20 Cricket Tournament organizing committee for conducting such a wonderful tournament and hoped such tournaments will remain continue with maximum participation of teams from every district of trouble torn Jammu and Kashmir.

Besides a cash prize of Rs 50,000 a trophy was awarded to the winning team, while as the runner up team was given a trophy and a cash prize of Rs 20,000.

Among others, Principal Islamia College Dr Muzzafar Khan, Awami Action Committee Youth President Mushtaq Ahmad Sofi, AAC senior Leader Advocate Sheikh Yasir Rouf Dalal, Advocate Aijaz Dhar, Journalist and activist Bilal Bashir Bhat, members of organizing committee S. Manzoor, Sahil Ahmad War, Tanvir Sidiq, Adil Umar, Aqib Sidiq, Adil Amin, Sonu were also present on the occasion. 

A moment of silence was observed on the occasion as a mark of tribute to the martyrs of Kashmir. 

Pertinently, the tournament was an opportunity for the budding cricketers of Kashmir to process inculcating the spirit of healthy competition among 32 teams.