Budget Session 2018-19: Speaker announces institution of media awards

Home » Jammu » Budget Session 2018-19: Speaker announces institution of media awards

By Fast Kashmir on 27/12/2017.

Budget Session 2018-19: Speaker announces institution of media awards


Chairs Media Advisory Committee meeting

JAMMU, DEC 27: Speaker, J&K Legislative Assembly Kavinder Gupta today announced institution of awards for the media coverage of the upcoming Budget session of the state legislature.

“On the recommendations of the Director Information, we have decided to institute two awards, one each for print and electronic media, for the outstanding and comprehensive coverage of the proceedings of the Budget session,” the Speaker announced at the Media Advisory Committee meeting chaired by him in the Joint Hall of the State legislature here this afternoon.

The meeting discussed in detail the arrangements to be made for the smooth media coverage of the Budget Session 2018-19 of the State Legislature.

Representatives of various media organizations, Secretary Legislative Assembly M R Singh, IG Traffic Jagjit Kumar, Director Information Muneer-ul-Islam, SSP CID HQ Ramesh Kumar Angral, SSP Jammu Vivek Gupta, SSP Civil Secretariat Dushyant Sharma, Deputy Director Information Sheikh Zahoor and other officers of the Assembly Secretariat and concerned Departments were present at the meeting.

The Speaker while deliberating upon modalities for institution of the media awards said a Selection Committee comprising Officials of the Assembly Secretariat and representatives from the media would be constituted for the purpose.

Regarding the arrangements for the media persons, the meeting was informed that about 25 parking slots have been allocated to accommodate the media vehicles within the Secretariat premises. Besides, additional parking facility will also be made in the vicinity of the Secretariat including Zanana Park.

Further, it was informed that space for parking of 2 OB vans has been allotted for the convenience of the media. Additional OBs might be accommodated on need basis on prior notice by the media houses.

Responding to the concern raised by electronic media representatives regarding live coverage of assembly and council proceedings on social networking sites, the Speaker said while the media persons can carry their mobile phones inside the Media Gallery, but they should desist from indulging in coverage of the proceedings using their cell phones to maintain the decorum of the House.

The journalists raised the issue of poor quality of audio system in the press gallery and sought Speaker’s intervention in this regard.

The Speaker assured that necessary measures in this regard are being taken to ensure best possible audio facility in the Gallery.

The Speaker also sought cooperation from the media fraternity for fair and comprehensive coverage of the Budget session.

Among others, Deputy Director, Doordarshan News, Sanjit Khajuria, Programme Head Doordarshan Jammu, Vinod Bhan, Arun Sharma from The Indian Express, Faheem Tak from Take One Channel, Vinod Kumar from Gulistan News, Zafar Choudhary from The News Now, Vivek Sharma from State Times, Abhimanyu Sharma from Dainik Jagran, Vishal Bharti from UNI, Mir Imran from Greater Kashmir, Mohammad Taskeen from Kashmir Uzma, Kkomal Singh Manhas from A2Z News Channel, Pradeep Dutta from Times Now, Rajon Vaid from Zee Salaam, Sominder Koul from ANI-TV, Bashir Ahmed Bashir from Srinagar Times, Sanjay Bansal from Ok India/Inside News, Mohammad Aslam Bhat from Kashmir News Service, Tejinder Singh Sodhi from Republic TV, Shahnawaz Khan from News Nation, Ashwani Gupta, Dainik Savera, Sohail Khan from INS were present at the meeting.