Governor chairs 28th EC Meeting of SMVDU

Home » Jammu » Governor chairs 28th EC Meeting of SMVDU

By Fast Kashmir on 14/04/2018.

Governor chairs 28th EC Meeting of SMVDU


Teachers granted 7thPay Commission scales and retirement age enhanced to 65 years

KAKRYAL, APRIL 14: The Executive Council of Shri Mata Vaishno Devi University (SMVDU) which met here, discussed various important matters relating to the functioning of the institution. Chaired by Governor N. N. Vohra, the Council decided to enhance the retirement age of the teaching faculty to 65 years and approved grant of 7th Pay Commission scales to the teaching staff. To attract well known teachers to serve the University the Council also decided to grant Children Education Allowance and Performance linked awards to the Faculty.

The Council congratulated Prof. Sanjeev Jain,Vice-Chancellor, for the University attaining the 94th rank among all the Engineering Institutions of the country and for retaining its position among the top 150 Universities in the country in the ranking assessment done under NIRF- 2018. It was noted that despite its young age the University has obtained better ranking than many NITs and IIITs.

The Council recorded appreciation on the University’s MBA programme becoming the University first accredited MBA program in J&K and for the University being included as a participating institution in Centralized Counselling for M.Tech (CCMT) 2018 and being brought under the Direct Admission of Students Abroad (DASA) – 2018 programme.

VC informed the Council that faculty and students of the University were participating in quality international conferences and the number of research papers written by them has significantly increased. Chancellor expressed satisfaction that the University is harnessing the potential of on line learning mechanisms, especially Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs) through SWAYAM and NPTEL and National Digital Library.

The Council appreciated various eco-friendly initiatives undertaken by the University to develop it as a green campus and becoming first Academic Campus in J&K to have a 900 Kilo Watt Solar Power Plant which will be commissioned on 30th April, 2018; encouraging the use of bicycles by students; usage of LED bulbs for street lighting and in the hostels and other buildings.

The Council approved conferring of Honoris Causa on Sh. Sunil Bharti Mittal, Founder and Chairman Bharti Enterprises Ltd. and Sh. Pawan Munjal, Chairman Hero Moto Corp Ltd.

On being apprised about the functioning of the SMVDU Technology Business Incubation Centre (TBIC) established in the University for encouraging the spirit of entrepreneurship among the people of the State, Chancellor observed that students from other States should be invited to join the TBIC and stressed the development of an ideal entrepreneurial ecosystem for boosting Start up culture in the State. He advised the VC to undertake a critical appraisal of all the Coys incubated so far in the TBIC and observed that he would very shortly convene a meeting of all VCs and Heads of Higher Education Institutions in the State for discussing and preparing a roadmap for promotion of entrepreneurship and Start-up Policies.

In order to incrementally and qualitatively enhance the academic environment of the University, the Council accorded ‘in principle’ approval to the Perspective Plan (2018-23) and urged the VC to implement a concrete Action Plan with regard to each and every aspect of the identified goals.

Prof. K. L. Chopra, former Director IIT Kharagpur; Prof. D. P. Aggarwal, former Chairman UPSC; Sh. Umang Narula, Principal Secretary to Governor and Chief Executive Officer of Shri Mata Vaishno Devi Shrine Board; Prof. R. D. Sharma Vice Chancellor University of Jammu; Prof. D. Mukhopadhyay, Dean Faculty of Management; Prof. Kamaiah Bandi, Head School of Economics, Dr. V. K. Tripathi, In-charge Dean Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences; Dr. Yugal Khajuria, In-charge Dean of Students, Dr. Sumeet Gupta, Associate Dean Academic Affairs; and Registrar Prof. V.K. Bhat participated in the EC Meeting.