JKLF chairman and dozens of others from JRL arrested at Abi-Guzar Srinagar

Home » Kashmir » JKLF chairman and dozens of others from JRL arrested at Abi-Guzar Srinagar

By FK WEB DESK on 06/02/2019.

JKLF chairman and dozens of others from JRL arrested at Abi-Guzar Srinagar

Led by Muhammad Yasin Malik JRL leaders and activists stage protest against plight of Kashmiri inmates, express solidarity with Dr. Qasim for completing 26 years in jail. 

 Srinagar, 06 Feb: Putting voices of dissent in jails and claiming democracy are two opposite things and those crushing voices of dissent by army, forces and police might have no right to call themselves as champions of democracy. Thousands of Kashmiri inmates are facing Indian wrath in jails and incarcerations centers which is highly condemnable. This was stated by the chairman of Jammu Kashmir Liberation Front (JKLF) Muhammad Yasin Malik while leading an exemplary protest rally at Abi- Guzar Srinagar.



Protest was called upon by Joint resistance leadership (JRL) comprising of Syed Ali Shah Geelani, Mirwaiz Muhammad Umar Farooq and Muhammad Yasin Malik and its purpose was to protest against the plight of Kashmiri inmates languishing in jails and expressing solidarity with Doctor Qasim Faktoo who has completed 26 years in jails. It is pertinent to mention that JKLF chairman Muhammad Yasin Malik along with many JRL leaders and activists including Ghulam Nabi Zaki, Molvi Bashir Ahmad Mir Irfani, Mushtaq Ajmal, Bashir Ahmad Boya, Ghulam Muhammad Dar, Imtiyaz Ahmad Dar, Imtiyaz Ahmad Ganaie, Fayaz Ahmad Lone, Shakir Ahmad Ahangar, Basharat Ahmad Butt, Muhammad Maqbool Khawaja, Abdul Rashid Ganaie were arrested during today’s protest rally near Press enclave by police. All arrested have been lodged at Kothi-bagh Police station now.


 Braving heavy snow and rains, leaders and activists of Hurriyat (G), Hurriyat (M) and JKLF along with people from many walks of life gathered outside JKLF office at Abi-Guzar Lal Chowk today and staged a unique and exemplary protest against the plight of inmates languishing in jails of Jammu Kashmir and India. Holding placards depicting photographs of Doctor Qasim Faktoo who recently completed 26 years in jail and slogans against the torture and torment imposed on Kashmiri inmates in various Indian jails and jails of Jammu Kashmir and raising slogans in favor of these inmates, protesters led by JKLF chairman Muhammad Yasin Malik marched towards Lal Chowk but this rally was intercepted by police near Press enclave. Police that had blocked the roads going towards Lal chowk by police vehicles and other barricades but protesters resisted police hegemony and highhandedness bravely. Protest rally continued despite heavy rain and snow and police using its might arrested Yasin Sahib and others and dispersed the peaceful rally. Prior to his arrest, JKLF chairman addressed People at Abi-Guzar Masjid and talked to media person too.

 In his address and media talk JKLF chairman said that today’s protest was organized by Joint resistance leadership (JRL) and its main purpose is to highlight the miseries Kashmiri inmates are suffering from at the hands of Indian oppressors and also express solidarity with doctor Qasim Faktoo who has been in jail for 26 years now. JKLF chairman said that doctor Qasim has been in jail from three decades now and Indian rulers who claim to be champions of democracy and freedom of speech have chosen to suppress his voice by putting him in jail. Yasin Malik said that today whole Kashmiri nation is paying gratitude to doctor Qasim and others for facing Indian oppression with braveness and dedication.


JKLF chairman said that Indian rulers and their abettors in Kashmir have always used black laws like PSA and agencies like NIA, ED etc to incarcerate more and more Kashmiris, shifting them to jails that are thousands of miles away from their families and hence inflicting more miseries to them and their families. From 2017, NIA and ED has arrested dozens of Kashmiris on concocted charges and lodged them at Tihar and other Indian jails. JKLF chairman said that Shabir Ahmad Shah, Altaf Ahmad Shah, Shahid-ul-Islam, Peer Saifullah, Ayaz Akbar, Meraj-ud-Din Kalwal, Farooq Ahmad Dar @ Bitta Karatay, Naeem Ahmad Khan, Zahoor Ahmad Watali, Asiya Andrabi, Fahmida Sofi, Nahida Nasreen ,  Shahid Yosuf, Syed Shakeel Ahmad, Muzaffar Ahmad Dar, Ghulam Muhammad Butt, Aslam Wani and others are facing hardships at Tihar Jail while as lifers Ghulam Qadir Butt, doctor Shafi Shariatee, Sheikh Nazir Ahmad, Muhammad Ayoub Dar, Muhammad Ayoub Mir, Showkat Ahmad Khan,  Abdul Gani Goni, Lateef Ahmad Waja, Javed Ahmad Khan, Mehmood Topi Wala, Nisar  Mirza, Feroz Ahmad, Parvaiz Ahmad, Ali Muhammad Butt, Sheikh Imran , Noushad Ali , Farooq Ahmad Sheikh, Ghulam Nabi Najar, Abdul Waheed Malik, Muhammad Abbas , Barkat Ali Khan are also facing ordeal in different jails.


Jklf chairman said that a Kashmiri Muzafar Ahmad Rather is facing death sentence in Bengal jail while as Muslim league chairman Masrat Alam has been slapped with 35 PSA’s continuously from 2010. JKLF chairman said that there are hundreds of others who are not being released from jails despite court orders.  JKLF chairman said that Sarjan Barkati, Siraj ud din Mir, Bashir Ahmad Kashmiri, Abdul Rashid Magloo, Zahoor Ahmad Butt, Umar Aadil Dar , Asadullah Parray, Showkat Hakeem, Mehraj-ud-din Nanda, Abdul Ahad Mir ,Mohammad Shafi Shah, Mushtaq Ahmad Lone, Talib Hussain, Ahtisham, Maqsood Ahmad Bhat, Mohammad Yousuf Falahi, Ghulam Nabi Kashmiri, Shakeel Ahmad Yatoo, Bashir Ahmad Qureshi, Abdul Gani Bhat, Nasir Ahmad Ganie, Mohammad Amin Ahanger, Nisar Ahmad Najar, Gh. Hussain Wagay, Nazir Ahmad Mantoo, Nadeem Ahmad Dar, Lateef Ahmad Dar, Zahir Abbas Lone, Lateef Ahmad Rather, Sajad Ahmad Beigh, Manzoor Ahmad Najar, Basharat Ahmad Mir, Ashiq Hussain Bhat, Riyaz Ahmad Dar, Sajad Ahmad Bhat, Mushtaq Ahmad Ganie, Showkat Ahmad Ganie, Bilal Ahmad Ganie, Riyaz Ahmad Ahanger, Mohammad Amin Bhat, Nazir Ahmad Khawaja, Shabir Ahmad Mir, Mehraj Ahmad Mir, Imtiyaz Ahmad Mir, Khursheed Ahmad Mir, Mohammad Shafi Mir, Azad Ahmad Mir, Riyaz Ahmad Behroo, Ikhlas Ahmad Sheikh, Kaleem Mohammad, Javid Ahmad Khan, Mohammad Asif Bhat, Asif Gul, Bashir Ahmad Sofi, Abdul Rehman Tantray, Mohammad Yaseen Tantray, Javid Ahmad War, Maqsood Ahmad, Mohammad Ayoub Malla, Zafar Islam, Mohammad Rajab Bhat, Mashooq Ahmad Bhat, Farooq Ahmad Najar, Parvez Ahmad Najar, Aabid Ahmad Kachroo, Showkat Mehraj, Fayaz Ahmad, Fayaz Ahmad Kumar, Fahran Lalu, Suhail Ahmad Sheikh, Waseem Mehraj, Umar Ahmad Dar, Irshad Khawaja, Tajamul-Islam, Aadil Ahmad Shah, Ashiq Hussain Ganie, Parveez Ahmad Ganie, Hilal Ahmad Ganie, Bashir Ahmad Malik. Mushtaq Ahmad Sheikh, Ishfaq Ahmad Makroo, Riyaz Ahmad Malik, Aasif Nisar Malik, Aasim Yaseen Malik, Zahir Ahmad Nala, Abdul Hamid Parray and many others are serving jails despite court orders and verdicts.


He said that there are dozens of young boys who have been put behind bars on concocted charges of DySp lynching which include Aadil Siraj Misgar, Davood Fayaz Zargar, Juwaiz Hassan Khan, Arooj Aafaq Bhat, Iqbal Ahmad Khan, Arsalan Mushtaq Bangri, Seerat ul Hassan, Sheikh Khalid Rasool , Imran Nabi Wani , Owaise Muneer Bhat , Danish Rahim Mir, Sameer Ahmad Khan , Danish Ayoub Badoo , Musawir Ahmad  Bhat and  Bashir Ahmad Bhat and no one is paying any heed to their pleas.  JKLF chairman said that today by our peaceful protest we want to convey to the international community to wake up from its deep slumber and do its duty of safeguarding humanity in Kashmir. He appealed ICRC to take cognizance of the plight of Kashmiri inmates and use its good offices to safeguard these inmates.