NC and BJP share equal seats

Home » Top News » NC and BJP share equal seats

By CNS on 23/05/2019.

NC and BJP share equal seats

Congress goes seat-less in Jammu and Kashmir

Srinagar, May 23: National Conference has bagged all three parliamentary constituencies in Kashmir valley while BJP is set to win the rest of three seats in Jammu and Ladakh.

In 2009, Farooq Abdullah had emerged victorious in this seat by defeating the JKPDP candidate by a margin of 30,242 votes which was 10.69% of the total votes polled. JKN had a vote share of 51.99% in 2019, in the constituency. There were 15 contestants in 2009.

National Conference managed to bag all three seats in Kashmir Valley – Baramulla, Srinagar and Anantnag, while BJP won from Jammu, Udhampur and Ladakh seats.

National Conference president and former J&K chief minister, Farooq Abdullah won the prestigious Srinagar Lok Sabha seat by a comfortable margin of seventy thousand votes. Abdullah bagged 106731 votes while his nearest rival PDP candidate managed Syed Mohsin secured a mere 36,705 votes.

From Baramulla Lok Sabha seat, NC candidate, Mohammad Akbar Lone secured 131869 votes while Peoples Conference candidate, Raja Ajaz Ali got 102212. Surprisingly, independent candidate and former assembly member Langate, Engineer Shiekh Rashid polled more than one lakh votes.

In Anantnag, NC’s greenhorn Justice (retd) Husnain Masoodi defeated two stalwarts – PDP president Mehbooba Mufti and J&K Pradesh Congress president Ghulam Ahmad Mir. Masoodi got 40032 votes while Mir and Mufti bagged 32879 and 30223 votes respectively.

Farooq Abdullah expressed gratitude to people of Srinagar-Budgam constituency for reposing their faith in him, saying that he will earnestly represent the aspirations of the people of state in the parliament.

Farooq Abdullah while underscoring the need of securing the Secular character of the country said, “We have to fight for the protection of the secular visage of the country. Moreover the mammoth task before us to put up a strong front against such forces as is inimical to the special status of the state. We will spare no effort towards protecting Art 370, Art 35-A. The other enormous task ahead of us is to protect the ideals of the constitution of India. I take this opportunity to thank the people of Srinagar in particular; I thank party functionaries and workers.”

While hoping that the new dispensation at the center would initiate a dialogue with Pakistan he said, “I hope that the new government at center will do justice with the people of Jammu and Kashmir.  I hope that the new government at the center will follow the policy of reconciliation and rapprochement in the state.  We saw how our youth were devoured upon and blinded in the past five years; we have to have policy in place to look after such people as have been affected by the conflict. Every time there is confrontation between India and Pakistan, it is our state that comes in the line of fire. It is our state that would straightly benefit from the bonhomie between India and Pakistan.”

Union Minister in PMO, Jitendra Singh sealed victory in Udhampur over Congress candidate Vikramaditya Singh after he secured 711199 votes to take a massive lead over his rival who got 365443votes. This is second Jitendra Singh’s consecutive win from Udhampur.

In the Jammu Lok Sabha seat, BJP candidate Jugal Kishore romped home with 830861votes while his Congress rival Raman Bhalla got 546403 votes.

BJP also managed to win the lone seat in Ladakh. Its candidate Jamyang Tsering Namgyal secured 38338 votes against 29004 of independent candidate Sajjad Hussain who was supported by NC and the PDP.


Share and Enjoy !

0 0 0