Srinagar among 11 J&K districts declared as red zones

Home » Top News » Srinagar among 11 J&K districts declared as red zones

By KNO on 19/05/2020.

Srinagar among 11 J&K districts declared as red zones

5 in orange zone, 4 fall in green zone

Srinagar, May 19: The Jammu and Kashmir government on Tuesday classified 11 districts of Jammu and Kashmir as red zones.

According to an order issued by government, which is available with news agency—Kashmir News Observer (KNO), eight districts from Kashmir division and 3 districts from Jammu division figure in red zone list.

Those declared as red zones in Kashmir Valley are  Srinagar, Budgam, Baramulla, Kupwara, Anantnag, Shopian, Pulwama and Kulgam. The district declared as red zones in Jammu are Kathua, samba and Ramban.

Five  districts-Bandipora, Ganderbal, Reasi, Udhampur and Jammu- districts have been declared whileas Doda, Kishtwar, Poonch and Rajouri districts have been classified as green zones.

The classification comes after Union Government authorized states/ UT governments to delineate districts into Red, Orange and Green category after taking into consideration parameters laid down by the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare (Mathew), Govt. of India.

The government said the classification was carried out “after a detailed review meeting of the current situation of J&K with Financial Commissioner Health and Divisional commissioners of Jammu and Kashmir division by looking into different parameters like overall assessment of the situation pertaining to spread of COVID-19, the trend of new cases particularly recent spike in new cases, the risk perception of health department and the parameters laid down by MOHFW Govt of India.

“This categorization of districts into Red, Orange and Green will be followed for the purposes of implementation of permitted activities in the respective districts, as per a separate order, to be issued by the State Executive Committee,” the order reads, adding that the classification will be reviewed periodically and any further modifications will be made by the Government of Jammu & Kashmir keeping in view any further developments or instructions from MoHFW/ MHA.